Baldwin EMC Holds Annual Meeting

Baldwin EMC held its 2022 Annual Meeting at its Summerdale headquarters on Friday, November 4. The meeting included voting in elections for trustees and bylaw revisions.

Chad Grace was re-elected to another term representing District 1, Aubury Fuller was re-elected to serve as the representative for District 3 on Baldwin EMC’s Board of Trustees, and all proposed by-law revisions were passed. More than 15,700 members voted either in person or by mail in this year’s election. The Annual Meeting also included special addresses from Board President Peggy Vanover Barnes and Chief Executive Officer Karen Moore.

Chad Grace of Spanish Fort has served on Baldwin EMC’s Board of Trustees since 2014 and has been named a Credentialed Cooperative Director by the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA). Grace has also earned the NRECA Board Leadership Certificate and the NRECA Director Gold Certificate. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of South Alabama with a double major in Biological Sciences and Chemistry. He is currently employed at Buc-ee’s in Loxley and was employed by Southern Company from 1991 until 2006, where he held positions in the Chemistry and Environmental departments at five separate electric generating plants. He is a father of three and attends East Pointe Baptist Church in Spanish Fort.

Aubury Fuller of Summerdale is the incumbent trustee for District 3. He has served on the Board of Trustees for 28 years and has earned the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association’s (NRECA) Board Leadership and Director Gold Certificates. He has also been named a Credentialed Cooperative Director by NRECA. Fuller attended Faulkner State Community College and Central Texas College. He also served two and a half years in the United States Army and is a veteran of the Vietnam War. Since 1979, Fuller has owned and operated his family business, the Dixie Road Garage Inc. in Summerdale. He serves as a deacon at Mount Gilead Baptist Church, where he also sits on the Board of Trustees. Fuller is also a member of the Board of Directors for AltaPointe Health Systems and the USS Alabama Battleship Commission. He is married to Clarissa Yelding Fuller and has two daughters and three grandchildren.

Immediately following the Annual Meeting, Baldwin EMC’s board of trustees held a re-organizational meeting to select board officers for the upcoming year. Peggy Vanover Barnes was elected to serve another term as president, Tommie Werneth was once again chosen to serve as vice president and Joe Coleman was elected to serve as secretary/treasurer.