Operation Round Up Presents Star Light Awards

The Baldwin County Electric Membership Charitable Foundation presented Star Light Awards to 42 teachers and school faculty members in 2019. Each of the winners received a grant to help them bring innovative projects and programs to their schools.

The grants were made possible by Baldwin EMC’s Operation Round Up program, which collects money for charitable causes by rounding up participating members’ electric bills to the next highest dollar amount.

This is the ninth year that Star Light Awards have been presented. The Baldwin County Electric Membership Charitable Foundation Board, which oversees Operation Round Up, created the program in 2011 as a way to enrich learning at local schools.

Before being named a winner, each teacher or faculty member submitted an application describing his or her project for the board to review.

Star Light awards were presented to the following:

  • Baldwin County High School: Alexandra Jacob Homan
  • Bay Minette Middle School: Jennifer Jones and Jonathan Beason
  • Central Christian School: Lisa Gregory
  • Christ the King: Chandra Ford
  • Christ the King: Lynn Williams
  • Daphne Elementary School: Melissa Spriggs
  • Daphne Middle School: Sherry Bittinger
  • Daphne High School: Betsy Anderton
  • Daphne High School: Luke Stewart
  • Elberta Middle/High School: Danielle Dunlavy and Greyson Piesco
  • Fairhope Elementary School: Michael Rogers
  • Fairhope Intermediate School: Margaret Dumas
  • Fairhope Intermediate School: Lisa Hood and Abbie Koert
  • Fairhope High School: Cody Coleman
  • Foley Elementary School: Nicole Hart
  • Foley Elementary School: Lisa Tidwell
  • Foley Intermediate School: Christina Waters
  • Gulf Shores Elementary School: Christy Weems
  • Gulf Shores High School: Krista Marcum and Lynn Lowell
  • Gulf Shores High School: Kristen Madsen
  • Gulf Shores High School: Karen Pearson
  • Loxley Elementary School: Jacquelyn Wilson
  • Magnolia School: Kiri McFarland
  • Pine Grove Elementary School: Stefanie Phillips
  • Robertsdale Elementary School: Devon Bloch
  • Robertsdale Elementary School: Julie Tassin
  • Robertsdale Elementary School: Breanna Vivar
  • Rosinton Elementary School: Victoria M. Pendley
  • Spanish Fort High School: Rachel Jablonski
  • Spanish Fort High School: Rachel Robinson
  • Benedict Catholic School: Greg Tucker
  • Patrick’s Catholic School: Amanda Campbell
  • Patrick’s Catholic School: Kelly Cote
  • Patrick’s Catholic School: Natasha Pratt
  • Patrick’s Catholic School: Jamie Koons
  • Patrick’s Catholic School: Noel Smeraglia
  • Summerdale School: Vicky Gunn
  • Swift School: Samantha Dixon

Get In Touch With Us

If you have questions about joining Baldwin EMC, or any other comments or concerns, we’re here for you! Reach out today, and let us help.

Let's Connect